Seven individuals comprise the class of 2020 as Penn Can Speedway in Susquehanna celebrates Hall of Fame Night tonight.

This year’s inductees are Mike Colsten, Mike Nagel Sr., Bob Gentile, Grant Buck, Brian Weaver, Dan Stone and Mark Terry.

Also to be honored are Ken Post Memorial Fan Award recipients Sherry Nagel and Craig Hall. Casey Oltz will be recognized for her 25 years as a track employee.

Tonight also begins points racing for the Modifieds, 602 Sportsman, Factory Stocks, Street Stocks and Four-Cylinder Stocks.

The Dirt Modified Nostalgia Tour is scheduled to make an appearance as well.

Defending champions in each division are Brian Malcolm of Lake Ariel (Modified); Mike Schane from Lake Ariel (Sportsman); Susquehanna’s Shane Wolf Jr. (Street Stocks) and Tommy Groover (Factory Stocks); Nick Kennedy from Windsor, N.Y. (Four-Cylinder Stocks); and Tyler Smith of Binghamton, New York (600cc Modifieds).

Gates open at 5 p.m. Hot laps are 6:30 p.m. and racing starts at 7:15 p.m.


Finally Five

At last, Five Mile Point Speedway in Kirkwood, New York, gets to open its 70th consecutive season Saturday night at 7:30.
A full card is planned, featuring a Modified Dash For Cash; the Grit Racing Series Crate Sportsman; Factory Stocks; FWD Four-Cylinder Experts and Novices; Street Stocks; 600cc Modifieds; and the Dirt Modified Nostalgia Tour.
Unfortunately, spectators are not allowed yet under New York’s reopening guidelines for the coronavirus pandemic.


Fast tracks

Among the opening-night winners at Hamlin Speedway was Colin White of Scranton in the Wingless 600 Sprints 20-lap feature. On Saturday at 6 p.m., Hamlin holds its Summer Sizzler with all seven classes in action, as well as makeup features for the Xcel Modifieds and All-Star Slingshots. … Ben Whitaker from Tompkinsville took the checkered flag in the Late Model 20-lap feature at BAPS Motor Speedway in York Haven. Whitaker started third, moved into the lead on Lap 1 and led all the way, withstanding six restarts. … Covington Twp. teen Alex Yankowski took sixth in the Short Track Super Series 50-lap Modified feature at Potomac Speedway in Budd’s Creek, Maryland. The race was won by Matt Sheppard of Waterloo, New York, with NASCAR Truck Series regular Stewart Friesen finishing second. Next on the series schedule is the “Anthracite Assault” at Big Diamond Speedway in Minersville on Tuesday at 7:30 p.m. … Harding’s Jordan Thomas placed 14th in Patriot Sprint Tour season opener, the 17th annual Joe Whitcomb Memorial at Selinsgrove Speedway. The series races next at Land of Legends Raceway in Canandaigua, New York, on Wednesday.