University of Scranton redshirt junior and Scranton Prep graduate Logan Bailey was named Landmark Conference men’s basketball Player of the Year, the league announced Tuesday.

Also, Royals coach Carl Danzig was chosen Coach of the Year. Junior and Abington Heights graduate Jackson Danzig earned first-team all-league honors.

Bailey is the fourth Scranton player to be named Player of the Year, joining Zach Ashworth (2010, 2011), Ross Danzig (2014) and Brendan Boken (2016). He also is a first-team all-Landmark selection for the third straight year.

He led the Royals in scoring and ranked second in the conference with 17.3 points. He also was third in the conference in field-goal percentage (68 for 131, 51.9) and added 5.1 rebounds, 2.1 assists, 1.5 steals and 1.0 blocks per game.

In the Landmark championship game, Bailey reached the 1,000 career-point mark on a free throw with 5:38 left in the second half. He became the 46th player in program history to reach the milestone.

Coach Danzig guided the Royals through the COVID-altered season to a 7-3 record and a berth in the final for the 10th time in the conference’s 14-year history. Scranton led the league in scoring offense (75.3 points), assists (15.7 per game), field-goal percentage (269 for 591, 45.5) and defensive field-goal percentage (263 for 677, 38.8). It also was second in blocks per game (3.7).

Jackson Danzig picked up his first all-Landmark first-team berth after averaging 13.2 points, which ranked eighth in the conference. He also finished second in field-goal percentage (51 for 94, 54.6) and assists per game (3.3) and was sixth in rebounds (6.0).

Landmark champion Drew had the Defensive Player of the Year in senior Malachi Walker for the second straight season. The Rangers also placed three players on the first team: sophomore Howard McBurnie, senior Lybrant Robinson and junior David Gervase.

Catholic freshman Jesse Hafemeister was chosen Rookie of the Year and rounded out the first team.

Named to the second team were Catholic freshmen Tommy Kelly and Colby Martins; freshman Chase Husted and senior Cameron Keck of Juniata; and Moravian seniors Matt O’Connor and Keith Otto.


Swimmers win awards

After finishing second in the team standings at the Landmark Conference Virtual Swimming and Diving Championships, the University of Scranton women swept the league’s major awards.

Senior Lauren Byrne was named the Swimmer of the Year, sophomore Jeanna Gailius earned Diver of the Year and head coach Chris Brown was named Coach of the Meet.

Byrne won titles in the 200-yard IM (2:07.58), 100-yard breaststroke (1:06.38) and 200-yard backstroke (2:07.31). She also was part of the Royals’ victorious 400-yard medley relay (4:03.32) and 400-yard freestyle relay (3:38.83) teams.

Gailius, meanwhile, posted the best marks in the one-meter (389.60) and three-meter (380.60) dives.

For the Scranton men, senior Jack Donnelly was All-Landmark first team for winning the 100-yard breaststroke (56.81). He also earned first-team honors for being a member of the Royals’ victorious 200-yard freestyle relay team (1:27.19) and a second-team berth in the 200-yard breaststroke (2:08.82).

Other second-team selections were junior Evan Morgan in the 1,650-yard freestyle (17:14.14) and the Royals’ 800-yard freestyle relay team (7:21.05).