Former All-American Penn State guard John Urschel will start a three-year term on the College Football Playoff selection committee this spring. (AP Photo/Gene J. Puskar, File)

John Urschel, then of the Baltimore Ravens, doing what he does best, teaching a STEM lesson at Dundalk High School to launch Texas Instruments’ STEM Behind Cool Careers series in 2017 in Baltimore. (Steve Ruark/AP Images for Texas Instruments)

The College Football Playoff selection committee’s advanced mathematics credentials just soared through the roof.

The committee added three new members today, including former All-American Penn State guard John Urschel. He, Wyoming athletic director Tom Burman and Colorado athletic director Rick George, now assume three-year terms starting this spring. They replace former Virginia Tech coach Frank Beamer, Robert Morris president Chris Howard and Oregon AD Rob Mullens, who chaired the committee last year. Their respective three-year terms expired.

Urschel is the first committee member of the 13-person committee who has Penn State ties, and he’s one of two players on the panel, joining Ronnie Lott.

That’s quite an honor, for sure, for Urschel, who is the epitome of what college football should be about.

“Tom, Rick and John each bring an exciting breadth of experiences and expertise to the committee,” CFP executive director Bill Hancock said in a statement. “All three will continue the CFP tradition of committee members with high integrity and passion for the sport of college football.”

In other committee news, it announced Iowa AD Gary Barta will chair the 2020 committee. So, good day for the Big Ten, which got new and high-profile representation on the board next year.